Beginning of the main content.

COVID-19

Keeping you up to date

April 1, 2020 - 4:30p.m.

The health and safety of our passengers and employees are, as always, our top priorities. VIA Rail continues to closely monitor the development of COVID-19 (also known as coronavirus), and we remain in close contact with health agencies and the federal government. To support the ongoing efforts deployed by the public health authorities across the country to limit the COVID-19 propagation, including recommendations for social distancing and in order to further reduce health risks to our passengers and employees, we announce a reduction of our services as well as additional preventive measures.

IMPORTANT
Passengers are responsible for keeping themselves informed and respecting the public health orders applicable to them, in particular any travel restrictions, as well as restrictions on access to certain health regions still served by VIA Rail, which could be identified at any time as such by the governments of the various provinces and municipalities.

For more information on the orders applicable in different provinces, please refer to the information available on the Government of Canada website at the following address: https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/2019-novel-coronavirus-infection/symptoms/provincial-territorial-resources-covid-19.html
 

NEW MEASURES AS OF MONDAY MARCH 30, 2020

A series of health checks will be conducted by VIA Rail employees with customers before boarding our trains. This will include asking simple health question and looking for visible signs of illness prior to boarding.

Passengers will be denied boarding our trains if:
- They are experiencing symptoms similar to a cold or flu (fever, cough, difficulty breathing)
- They have been denied boarding for travel in the last 14 days due to medical reasons related to COVID-19

In the event the passenger meets any of these criteria, VIA Rail will refuse boarding and travel for a period of 14 days, or until a medical certificate is presented that confirms the passenger’s symptoms are not related to COVID-19.

MEASURES ALREADY IN PLACE

We’re increasing how often we clean our trains and stations.

We’re distributing antiviral products, such as hand sanitizer, at key points of contact.

Our employees have been trained in additional preventive and reactive measures as recommended by Health Canada.

A dedicated committee is proactively meeting on a regular basis to monitor the level of risk associated with COVID-19 and ensure that appropriate procedures are implemented and communicated to our employees and passengers.

If you choose to change your travel plans, we understand. We’ve extended our cancellation policy to include all travel through May 31, 2020, to allow you to cancel your reservation at any time prior to departure and receive a full refund in addition to not incurring any service charges, regardless of when you purchased your ticket. You can find more information here.

If you would like to cancel your trip for a full reimbursement, click here.

The most effective way to prevent the spread of disease are things you do yourself.

  • Wash your hands often.

  • When you cough or sneeze, cover your mouth with a tissue or the inside of your elbow.

  • If you have symptoms similar to a cold or flu (fever, cough, difficulty breathing), you are advised to postpone your travel and we ask that you not board the train. If those symptoms develop on-board, immediately report it to one of our employees.

VIA Rail remains vigilant, and our processes and procedures will continue to evolve to respond to the latest COVID-19 information. We’ll be updating this page regularly. For more details information, please read our FAQs below .

For the latest developments on the outbreak in Canada and the risk to Canadians, please consult the Government of Canada’s Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) webpage on COVID-19.

Thank you for your patience and understanding in this difficult time, as we continue to adapt to this evolving situation.
 

Latest press release: https://media.viarail.ca/en/news/2020/latest-rail-update-response-covid-19
 

FAQ

Début du contenu principal.

COVID-19

Dernières nouvelles

Mise à jour: 1 avril 2020 - 16h30

La santé et la sécurité de nos passagers et de nos employés est, et demeure, notre priorité. VIA Rail continue à suivre attentivement la propagation du COVID-19 (aussi connue comme le coronavirus), et reste en communication étroite avec les organismes de santé et le gouvernement fédéral. Pour soutenir les efforts déployés par les autorités de santé publique à travers le pays afin de limiter la propagation du virus COVID-19 incluant les recommandations émises pour l’isolement social et pour protéger les Canadiens, nous annonçons une réduction de certains de ses services et des mesures de prévention additionnelles.

IMPORTANT
Il revient aux passagers de s’informer et respecter les ordonnances de santé publique leur étant applicables, notamment toute ordonnance restreignant leurs déplacements et prévoyant des restrictions d’accès à certaines régions sociosanitaires toujours desservies par VIA Rail que pourraient identifier, de temps à autre, les gouvernements des différentes provinces et municipalités.  

Pour obtenir davantage d’informations concernant les ordonnances applicables dans les différentes provinces, veuillez-vous référer à l’information disponible sur le site web du Gouvernement du Canada à l’adresse suivante:  https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/maladies/2019-nouveau-coronavirus/symptomes/ressources-provinces-territoires-covid-19.html
 

NOUVELLES MESURES EN PLACE À PARTIR DU 30 MARS 2020

Des contrôles de santé seront effectués par les employés de VIA Rail avant l’embarquement à bord des trains. Il conviendra alors de poser des questions simples sur leur état de santé et de surveiller les signes visibles de maladie avant l’embarquement.

Les passagers se verront refuser l’embarquement à bord de nos trains si :
- Ils présentent des symptômes qui s’apparentent à la grippe ou un rhume (fièvre, toux, difficultés respiratoires)
- Ils se sont vus refuser l’embarquement lors d’un voyage au cours des 14 derniers jours pour des raisons médicales liées à la COVID-19

Dans l’éventualité où un passager répond à l’un de ses critères, VIA Rail lui refusera l’embarquement et le voyage pour une période de 14 jours ou jusqu’à la présentation d’un certificat médical confirmant que les symptômes que le voyageur manifeste ne sont pas liés à la COVID-19.

MESURES DÉJÀ IMPLANTÉES

La fréquence de nettoyage des trains et des gares a été augmentée.

Des produits antiviraux, tels que des désinfectants pour les mains, sont distribués à des points de contact clés.

Nos employés ont reçu une formation supplémentaire sur les mesures de prévention et de réaction tel que recommandé par Santé Canada.

Un comité dédié se rencontre régulièrement afin d’évaluer le niveau de risque associé au COVID-19 et de s’assurer que les procédures appropriées ont été mises en œuvre et sont communiquées à nos employés et passagers.

Nous comprenons que vous pourriez choisir de modifier votre projet de voyage. Ainsi, nous avons prolongé notre politique d’annulation  pour inclure tous les voyages jusqu’au 31 mai 2020 afin de vous permettre d’annuler votre réservation à n’importe quel moment avant votre départ et de recevoir un remboursement complet, sans frais additionnels, quel que soit le moment où vous avez acheté votre billet. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici 

Vous pouvez annuler votre voyage et obtenir le remboursement ici.

La propagation de la maladie peut être évitée efficacement par des mesures que vous pouvez prendre vous-mêmes :

  • Lavez-vous souvent les mains

  • Si vous toussez ou éternuez, couvrez votre bouche avec un mouchoir ou l’intérieur de votre coude.

  • Si vous avez des symptômes qui s’apparentent à ceux d’un rhume ou d’une grippe (fièvre, toux, difficulté respiratoire), informez votre entourage, et reportez vos projets de voyage et ne montez pas à bord d’un train. Si vos symptômes sont sévères, consultez un professionnel de la santé. Si ces symptômes se développent à bord, veuillez immédiatement aviser un employé.

VIA Rail demeure vigilante et nos processus et procédures continueront à évoluer en réponse aux dernières informations sur le COVID-19. Nous mettrons cette page à jour fréquemment. Pour plus de détails, veuillez lire la FAQ ci-dessous.

Pour les dernières nouvelles concernant la situation au pays et les risques pour les Canadiens, veuillez consulter la page de la Foire aux questions (FAQ) sur le COVID-19 du Gouvernement du Canada.

Merci de votre patience et compréhension en cette période difficile, alors que nous continuons de nous adapter à cette situation en évolution.

 

Communiqué de presse: https://media.viarail.ca/fr/actualites/2020/mise-jour-mesures-rail-covid-19

 

FAQ